Harry Potter – 20 Years of Magic

20 years since Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone was published. Really? These books changed my life.

I remember the day perfectly when I read the first Harry Potter book. It was suggested to me by my grandma, who had read in a newspaper article that kids were going wild over these books. I’m not sure why she thought I would like the books out of all of my siblings, but I like to think it was fate. I was seven years old at the time and my mom took me to the local library, where I eagerly checked it out. I will say, I had never really read a chapter book at that point in my life, so I was rather intimidated at the number of pages and chapters (now I read 600+ page books – I was so naive at that age). But, I persisted and fell in love with all of the magic. I became a better reader, a better writer, and I truly wouldn’t  be the same person that I am today if Harry Potter hadn’t come magically into my life. Thank you so much for the memories, Harry.

Leave a Reply

