Signs of Autumn – A Writing Prompt

falling-leaves

Fall, leaves, fall; die, flowers, away;

Lengthen night and shorten day;

Every leaf speaks bliss to me

Fluttering from the autumn tree.

I’m pretty sure that I have shared an excerpt of Emily Bronte’s Fall, leaves, fall in a previous post around this time last year or so, but it’s the only poem that truly speaks to me about the change from summer to autumn. Leaves are already falling in my city and the weather is warm, but it has that crisp, expecting quality that can only come with the change of the seasons. And all of the animals seem to be incredibly busy! Birds are gliding around in great swarms and I come across so many chipmunks on my bike ride the other day I had lost count!

I almost squished this little guy, who was slow at crossing the bike path due to his cheeks being stuffed with nuts. It appears that he spat them out in his home before peeking his head out of his front door to glare at me. Clearly, he was not very happy with me interrupting and nearly squishing him.

14459713_637683219739923_1371259784_n

Back at my own homestead, I indulged in making a recipe from the Bakealong challenge from King Arthur Flour. I was excited for this month’s challenge: Inside-out Pumpkin Muffins. Nothing screams autumn more than pumpkin and these turned out better than I could have hoped for!

14445454_637493059758939_1563688329_n

I find autumn so inspiring; it truly is one of my favorite seasons. I just feel so attune at this time of year, especially after all of those hot summer days. Is anyone else inspired by autumn like this? I find an upswing in my creativity, particularly in my writing. I can’t explain why, but I think it’s because all of my sense are once again bombarded with so many changes. Every sight, sound, and smell becomes an inspiration; a prompt for a story. So, today, that is what I am going to end this post with – an autumn inspired writing prompt. Keeping in mind with all of the attuned senses, write about one of your experiences of autumn, making sure to focus on one of your five senses (sight, touch, taste, smell, sound).

For me, I chose the sense of smell (got to when your house smells like pumpkin muffins!):

Spicy cinnamon, tickling my nose

Competing with sugar as they both swirl through the air.

Bubbling honey adds to the aromatic mix

All topped off by earthy pumpkin, making my house smell like bliss.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

