Baked Peaches (and Stories Too!)

This weekend, I discovered a new favorite treat of mine: Baked Peaches.

p1

What? Were you expecting something with chocolate?

Believe me, this rivals any chocolate dessert that I have recently had (not to mention, it’s pretty healthy in comparison).

Just slice and pit the peach, dot with butter, sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon, and bake in the oven at 385 degrees for 20 minutes. They would be great topped with vanilla ice cream, but I didn’t have any on hand so I topped them with a dollop of cool whip instead (yogurt is also another good option). Soooo good!

p2

In many Chinese folktales, the peach is a symbol of longevity and immortality. In Japan, many stories surround Momotarō, a hero of Japanese folklore who came to Earth inside a giant peach. His name even means “Peach boy”! Whenever I hear of a giant peach, I don’t think of Momotarō, but of Roald Dahl’s James and the Giant Peach  – especially the film adaptation that I watched as a kid in the mid-90s.

james-and-the-giant-peach

I went to the library today, hoping to actually check out Dahl’s book for the first time – but all 53 copies were out! I guess that means that I will have to wait patiently for my reserve of the copy – while baking more peaches, that is!

Leave a Reply

