End of Year Reflection

paris

As 2015 comes to a close and 2016 begins, I look back at all that I have accomplished – journeys to Scotland and Philadelphia, a historical article published, an audio drama produced, seeing the Rolling Stones perform live, seeing my first basketball game, playing a song on the guitar from beginning to end, starting this blog, and cooking and baking. Yes, perhaps I will remember this year as the year that I fell in love with cooking and baking! It all began at the end of last year when I made up my mind to make recipes from around the world and since then, it’s been a savory adventure, not only in the kitchen, but through the books that I’ve read that revolve, well, around food!

From turning the pages of endless cookbooks, to reading stories centered around cooking, I feel as though in 2015, I have never really left the kitchen. I have though, fallen in love with one book and through this book, fell in love with France and French cooking.

Lunch in Paris: A Love Story in Recipes (an autobiography written by Elizabeth Bard) follows the author’s years when she met her husband in France, the culture shock of becoming a French citizen, and her overall adoption into French culture through the art of learning (and cooking) French cuisine. Full of wit, humor, and warmth (not to mention delicious recipes!), the book has become an all-time favorite of mine as I can easily connect with Elizabeth’s notion of literally finding oneself in the kitchen.

So here’s to the culinary adventures, reading more books, and overall, writing more blog posts about it all in 2016!

Leave a Reply

