Back to Blogging – with Kumache


It’s been awhile since I last blogged (I’ve been focusing on a research project that I’ve been writing), but that doesn’t mean that I haven’t found a wealthy of stories, whether written or filmed, that help us explore this amazing planet!

So I thought I would get back into my blogging habit again by journeying to Venezuela. Now, it’s no secret that I like to cook. Indeed, I’ve been “traveling” around the world by cooking dishes from various countries. I have yet to reach South America on my journey, but one day I came across this short, National Geographis film that explores a delicacy found within the town of Kumarakapay, Venezuela – a hot sauce called kumache. Now, what makes kumache so unique is that it is sauce made out of the yuca root with the heaping addition of ants and termites.

Like me, I bet you’re wishing you hadn’t eaten that sandwich before reading about this. However, all queasiness aside, this is a dish that has passed through generations, as the ancestor’s indigenous ancestors relied on these ants and termites for sustenance. What’s even more, the short film sheds light on a way of life far different, yet similar to our own. We all have our favorite foods, dishes that represent us, our cultures, and countries, and the stories that go with them – the people of Kumarakapay are no different.

Leave a Reply

